Bournville Labour Party Campaign Team with local Bournville Ward candidate Mary Locke in Stirchley

A week Is a Long Time in Cats of the Campaign Trail

Harold Wilson famously said a week is a long time in politics. However, if the great Labour leader were alive today I like to think he’d tell me a week is an even longer time in the world of election campaign cat spotting.

Rather than deluge you with the many photos of cats I’ve spotted on the campaign trail since my last post, I thought I’d keep this post cat-free and instead fill you in on what’s been happening more generally with the Bournville Labour Party election campaign.

Since I last posted, I’ve been busy juggling some fairly major work headaches with leafleting and knocking on doors for the Labour Party, all the while still trying to be a reasonable husband and responsible cat owner.

Bournville Labour Party Campaign Team with local Bournville Ward candidate Mary Locke in Stirchley

The Avengers or Bournville Labour Party Campaign Team with local Bournville Ward candidate Mary Locke in Stirchley

I’m pleased to report campaigning is going down well locally. With every passing day, our campaign team reminds me more and more of The Avengers (the Marvel superheroes rather than the British TV series incarnation), with each of us bringing something to the table. Well, perhaps not quite but I am pretty sure Stuart has a superpower of persuading residents to display ‘Vote Labour’ posters in the windows of their front rooms.

I’ve also really enjoyed getting to know our Labour candidates, Mary Locke, who is standing as a councillor in the Bournville Ward, and Steve McCabe, who will hopefully be re-elected as MP for Selly Oak Constituency.

Selly Oak Parliamentary Candidate Steve McCabe speaking at a General Election at Cotteridge Church hustings event organised Birmingham Churches Together

Selly Oak Parliamentary Candidate Steve McCabe speaking at a General Election at Cotteridge Church hustings event organised Birmingham Churches Together

I was lucky enough to attend the recent General Election hustings event organised by Birmingham Churches Together. Steve performed strongly. I was particularly pleased that Steve presented a positive, optimistic and yet still credible alternative to what the country has endured these past 5 years. Over the course of the debate spoke up for a fully costed plan for proper jobs and wages; rising standards in schools; rebuilding the NHS; decent homes for local people to buy and rent. You can read my write up of the hustings over on Bournville News.

With Mary, what’s really stood out for me is her local knowledge and genuine concern for local people in her community. When I’ve been helping out in Stirchley, it’s amazing how many people Mary knows and the affection others have for her. Often, it’s the little things that stand out. For example, Mary asked me not to knock on a person’s door because she knew that the person who live there was an older, disabled person who would not appreciate being disturbed in the evening. Instead, Mary would speak to that person at a more suitable time. Mary is passionate about protecting the services local people rely on and, if elected, I am confident she will be a determined and selfless supporter of others.

I recorded a short video of Mary explaining why people should vote Labour on 7 May. Hopefully, it will give you an idea of why Mary is going over well with voters locally.

Thanks for reading. I promise my next post will be catnip to all politically minded cat people!

Leave a comment